South America news

World Cup qualifier playoffs draw: Ultimate Qatar 2022 spots round world & Europe

The ultimate 5 spots in the 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar shall be determined by 5 totally different playoffs held all over the world in 2022. And there shall be loads of drama in retailer after the draw on Nov. 26.

FIFA held the draw at its Zurich headquarters to find out the matchups that can assign the last three World Cup berths in Europe, in addition to the 2 intercontinental playoff berths (particulars beneath). What’s sure is that Italy and Portugal can’t each be in Qatar 2022.

A complete of 32 nations will take part within the 2022 FIFA World Cup that can be held in Qatar starting in November 2022. Qatar robotically qualifies as host and the opposite 31 finalists will emerge from regional qualifying held across the globe.

MORE: Which groups have certified to the 2022 World Cup?

There are 13 international locations which have already booked their ticket to Qatar, and others will lock up spots throughout qualifying in January and February. Not together with host Qatar, here is how the 31 direct berths are cut up up all over the world: 

  • Africa (CAF): 5
  • Asia (AFC): 4 (plus 1 playoff qualifier)
  • Europe (UEFA): 13 (together with 3 playoff winners)
  • North/Central America & Caribbean (CONCACAF): 3 (plus 1 playoff qualifier)
  • Oceania (OFC): 1 playoff qualifier
  • South America (CONMEBOL): 4 (plus 1 playoff qualifier)

The 4 playoff qualifiers famous above from the Asia, South America, North America and Oceania continents have been drawn in two separate “intercontinental” playoff knockout matches that shall be performed in a impartial venue with a ticket to Qatar on the road.

Europe has its personal playoffs involving 12 international locations. They have been drawn into three “last 4” brackets. The survivor of every bracket will head to Qatar (the winner has to make it by two knockout matches).

MORE: Might Cristiano Ronaldo miss out on the World Cup?

World Cup European Playoffs (3 berths)

The draw cut up the 12 European playoff groups into three totally different brackets. Of the 12 playoff groups (10 group runners-up and two Nations League group winners) six have been seeded: the six greatest groups based mostly on factors whole (minus factors earned towards last-placed groups for these nations that performed in six-team teams) have been allotted to Pot 1, and the remaining six went into Pot 2.

Pot 1 (seeded groups): Italy, Portugal, Russia, Scotland, Sweden, Wales

Pot 2 (unseeded groups):  Austria, Czech Republic, North Macedonia, Poland, Turkey, Ukraine

The groups in Pot 1 will host the knockout semifinal of their respective bracket (or path, as FIFA calls it). The host of the last was decided by a draw.

Residence groups listed first

Bracket (Path) A – 1 World Cup berth

Date Match Time (ET) TV channels Stream
Thurs/Fri, March 24/25 Semi #1: Scotland vs. Ukraine    TBD TBD
Thurs/Fri, March 24/25 Semi #2: Wales vs. Austria   TBD TBD
Mon/Tues, March 28/29 Ultimate (Wales vs. Austria winner will host)   TBD TBD

Bracket (Path) B – 1 World Cup berth

Date Match Time (ET) TV channels Stream
Thurs/Fri, March 24/25 Semi #1: Russia vs. Poland   TBD TBD
Thurs/Fri, March 24/25 Semi #2: Sweden vs. Czech Republic   TBD TBD
Mon/Tues, March 28/29 Ultimate (Russia vs. Poland winner will host)   TBD TBD

Bracket (Path) C – 1 World Cup berth

Date Match Time (ET) TV channels Stream
Thurs/Fri, March 24/25 Semi #1: Italy vs. North Macedonia   TBD TBD
Thurs/Fri, March 24/25 Semi #2: Portugal vs. Turkey   TBD TBD
Mon/Tues, March 28/29 Ultimate (Portugal vs. Turkey winner will host)   TBD TBD


World Cup Intercontinental Playoffs (2 berths)

There are 4 nationwide groups that can advance to the FIFA intercontinental playoffs: 

The Nov. 26 draw decided which continents will face off in every knockout match in June 2022 to full the sphere of 32 World Cup groups. Previously, these have been held over two legs, however as a result of schedule congestion attributable to the COVID-19 pandemic, they are going to be single-game knockout playoffs at a impartial venue.

Date Match Time (ET) TV channels Stream
Mon/Tues, June 13/14 Asia vs. South America   TBD TBD
Mon/Tues, June 13/14 North America vs. Oceania   TBD TBD


When does the FIFA World Cup begin?

  • Inaugural matches: Monday, Nov. 21, 2022
  • World Cup last: Sunday, Dec. 18, 2022

The 2022 FIFA World Cup will kick off on a Monday with 4 matches in Qatar.

The World Cup last will nonetheless be held on a Sunday, as per custom. The trophy shall be hoisted by the winner on Sunday, Dec. 18, 2022.

Which groups have certified for the World Cup?

A complete of 13 groups have formally certified for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, together with the host nation. That leaves 19 spots to be stuffed within the upcoming months.

Along with host nation Qatar, there have been 10 nations from Europe to qualify for the match (the ten qualifying group winners). Brazil was the primary to earn a berth from South America with 5 qualifying matches left, and it was later joined by Argentina.

Related posts

Can Mexico turbocharge pandemic nearshoring by US companies? | Worldwide Commerce Information


Preview: Colombia vs. Peru – prediction, staff information, lineups


I really feel higher on daily basis – Pele